Background


Lecrae’s song ‘Background’ has to be my favorite off of his album titled ‘Rehab’. He talks about how he wants Jesus to take the lead of his life.

I could play the background
I could play the background
Cause I know sometimes I get in the way
So won’t You take the lead, lead, lead?
So won’t You take the lead, lead, lead?
And I could play the background, background
And you could take the lead

I love the depth of this song and Lecrae’s honesty and humility. 

So I don’t want to take the lead, ’cause I’m prone to make mistakes
All these folks who follow me, gon’ end up in the wrong place

I’m human and humans tend to mess up quite a bit. We let things go to our heads and don’t stop to think how it is we got here in the first place.

And that’s this song is about. It’s about recognizing that we can’t do life without Jesus, because he is the ultimate life-giver!

So don’t you think we should let him do what he does best by allowing him to take the lead of our lives?

And I could play the background, background

-Elizabeth L. W. 

About Elizabeth L. W.

Hello! I'm Elizabeth, I'm the oldest of 3 homeschooled kids. Jesus is my best friend, and I honestly wouldn't have it any other way. I have a passion for the 27 million people trapped in modern-day slavery around the world, including the United States. I'm a rather random individual, and I talk to myself quite a bit, which usually scares most mortals. I love to read (hence the blog filled with book reviews); I like most genres, action, adventure, historical, fantasy, si-fi, dystopia, nonfiction, and modern fiction. Though I do not do romance. I think it's cheese-y and a lot of the time the romance takes away from the plot, it isn't very well thought out. But that's just my opinion, it's not written in stone or anything like that, you just won't see many romance books floating around on my blog, that's all. I love music, mostly Christian Rock, though I do love my Disney station on Pandora... I'm a Whovian, which means I watch the British TV show Doctor Who excessively! It's an awesomely nerdy show! You should check it out! :-) I also like Sherlock, another British TV show. It's pretty awesome as well! I guess you could call me a writer, though I'm not your typical writer. I can't stand anything I write, but there is this driving force that keeps pushing me back to that pen and paper, that I can't seem to shake. I guess I'm a reluctant writer. I make jewelry for myself and friends and family. I used to do it a lot more, but it's kind of slacked off lately. I have a few posts with pictures floating around on the blog, you might want to check them out! I run the sound system at my church and try to keep the technology in check, which can be very interesting! I am just barely 5 feet tall, and would love to be a little taller, but I'll admit I do enjoy all the jokes about being short... :-P My absolute favorite book would have to be J.R.R. Tolkien's The Hobbit. I've read plenty of books, some of them have even become serious favorites, but The Hobbit will always hold a special place in my heart. :-)

Leave a Reply

