The Two Faces of Two Face


As I have told you (I think I told you) I was in germany for a while. While I was there I heard a sermon on hypocrisy that brought something to light. Normally in my christian circles when I think of hypocrisy I think of a person who acts christian till he’s eighteen and then shows himself for who he really is and becomes a part of this world. This the first face of twoface. Someone worldly who looks christian/good but really has a different heart and uses his ‘goodness’ for his own gain. But there is more. Hypocrisy in essence is pretending to be something you are not. Which means that someone can believe and yet not act on it. This little reference in the bible shows the other side of hypocrisy. Go read it.
2 Peter 2:6-8 And turning the cities of Sodom and Gomorrha into ashes condemned them with an overthrow, making them an ensample unto those that after should live ungodly; And delivered just Lot, vexed with the filthy conversation of the wicked:(For that righteous man dwelling among them, in seeing and hearing, vexed his righteous soul from day to day with their unlawful deeds;)
We see a man here vexed (annoyed) by the sins around him, but the bible never really shows him standing up to those from Sodom and Gomorah. Annoyed deeply but mostly action less. How often are we the same, we believe one thing and yet we do another. Let me give you a modern counterpart, the guys will probably understand this the best. How about absolutely hating the corrupt filthy locker room talk but participating in it.?Or how about hating it when you waste your time, but doing it anyway? We like to say “Hey, but my intentions were good” but isn’t this just hypocrisy? You might ask yourself, “Well, if my heart is right why does it matter what I do?” Let me answer with two passages. The first one is Jesus talking to the Pharasies.
Mathew 23:27-28 Woe unto you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! for ye are like unto whited sepulchres, which indeed appear beautiful outward, but are within full of dead men’s bones, and of all uncleanness. Even so you also outwardly appear righteous unto men, but within you are full of hypocrisy and iniquity.
These two verses come from a passage where Jesus condemns hypocrisy like nowhere else in the bible. The entire chapter is dedicated to showing hypocrisy. If you want to fully understand how much Jesus hates hypocrisy, go old fashioned and read the chapter yourself. God hates a heart and life not fully dedicated to him. This next passage illustrates both faces for us.
Jas 2:17-18 Even so faith, if it hath not works, is dead, being alone. Yea, a man may say, you have faith, and I have works: shew me your faith without your works, and I will shew you my faith by my works.
Our faith is useless if we don’t live it. Both faces are equally bad. Here they are presented side by side. Faith by works = face one. ” I don’t love God, but I’ll act like it so I can go to heaven.” Faith without works = face two. ” I love God I just don’t live like it.” I challenge all of us (yeah, me too) to examine our lives for hypocrisy. Every single time I look at myself I find bits of both. As we are all human, I think that if you look earnestly you ‘ll probably find a face or two of two face in your life.
Live your faith.
Daniel
About ourctl

We are some teenagers that love God and want to help other teenagers to see His love, too!:)

2 thoughts on “The Two Faces of Two Face

  1. My brother suggested I might like this blog. He was entirely right.
    This post actually made my day. You can not imagine just how much time I
    had spent for this info! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

